Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Green lane advise please
Right am off green laning in wales in Nov on the CRF for the first time

What advise could you give me ?

I’ve got the boots Jacket etc helmet goggle etc

What sort of tools ?

How do you deal with punctures ? is there a special outfit?

Any help would be great

Jonny the muddy virgin AngelHuh
TO many crash test monkeys to list
Hi Johnny I'm pretty new to it myself, I've bought a michelin 4mm thick inner tube after reading a few other forums an so far have had no issues with punctures. If however you are unlucky enough to get a puncture- Motul P3 Tyre Repair Puncture Tire Foam Re-inflate Without Tools Seal.

Or if your feeling really brave tyre irons and motorbike repair patches.

Tool wise I carry cable ties allen keys a socket to fit the back spindle nut in case the chain gets loose mid ride, i've had it jump and take a lump off my engine casing, that was down to a shitty chain but the same can happen with a loose chain. If you do water crossings its recommended you take a spanner to fit the drain plug on your carb if your unlucky enough to drop it and water gets in the air box and fuel system.

Its really about trial and error if you go on the trf forum you'll take everything except the kitchen sink. The best thing to do is go out with a few lads who do it regularly and dont forget your phone.

If your looking for a spare helmet i've just bought a bell one from amazon for £41.40 instead of £195.

Hope that helps.
(10-22-2014, 08:12 PM)croweman Wrote: Hi Johnny I'm pretty new to it myself, I've bought a michelin 4mm thick inner tube after reading a few other forums an so far have had no issues with punctures. If however you are unlucky enough to get a puncture- Motul P3 Tyre Repair Puncture Tire Foam Re-inflate Without Tools Seal.

Or if your feeling really brave tyre irons and motorbike repair patches.